5.0, 305 merc program

JFDeeJFDee Member Posts: 27
Just bought a 2001 242 rinker with a 5.0..305 merc with a alpha 1 out drive.  Ran great at sea trial but smelt a little gas in the engine compartment.  Brought it home, washed the hull with dish soap and was bone dry.  Filled tank with gas, went for a run and boat Boggs down, sputters.  Boat runs and starts great, only Boggs down when giving her.bilge pumps out gas and a milky white substance.  Does anyone have a suggestion where to start as I'm new to boating and already want to sell. 

Comments

• skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    Milky white substance sounds like oil being mixed with water.  If the bilge pump is kicking on because of this you have a pretty serious leak.

Fuel in the bilge?  #1 dont run the boat if you have fuel in the bilge... serious explosion Hazzard.

Check all fuel hoses for leaks...and also oil lines / pan for leaks.
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3
  • LaReaLaRea Member Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Absolutely DO NOT start the engine if you smell gas in the engine room. 

You're new to boating, so maybe you don't know the danger.  Gas fumes are heavier than air.  Unlike with a car, fumes will accumulate in the bilge, and a spark can create a major explosion.  Even a small gas leak can be deadly because the explosion can throw people off the boat.  

Park the boat until you find and fix the fuel leak.  
  • JFDeeJFDee Member Posts: 27
    I emptied the bilge and disposed of the liquids properly.  Washed the hull out with Dawn dish soap.   the smell is gone.  Local marine guys told me to turn the key to pressurize the system.  No leaks around the hoses and no leaks around the oil pan.  The white "milky substance was from the original soap I used to clean the hull.  
  • skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    Perhaps you have a leak in the fuel tank and underway it sloshes around and is able to escape to the bilge
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3