When to use blower and bilge.

tappertapper Member Posts: 3

I am new to inboard/outboard boats and have just bought a used Captiva 206.  Do I need to run the blower all the time that the motor is running?  When do I use the bilge pump?  Also, the indicator needle fell off of the stem in the trim gauge.  Can I open that gauge and fix it or does it have to be replaced?  If replaced, where do I get one that will fit?

Comments

• craigswardmtbcraigswardmtb Member Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭

They say you should run it under idle and no wake speeds.  Also before and after fueling but not during.  If you have a genny run it during use.
  • MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2014

If my engine is running, my blower is running. Easier that way. 

Boat Name: King Kong

"Boat + Water = Fun"

• BoatAwayBoatAway Member Posts: 179 ✭✭✭

10 minutes is the longest I've ever heard for blower. 3-4 is more common. Can't stand the sound of it when no-wake. I usually do run it if just idling.

Manually turn on the bilge pump if you don't like how much water is in there. Otherwise it should take care of itself.

Fixing the needle is worth a shot, but you'll likely have to replace.

• LaReaLaRea Member Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭✭✭

The "sniff test" is important too.  When you turn on the blower, walk over and stick your face in the blower exhaust.  Once you learn the "normal" odor for your engine room, any changes in that odor can warn you of impending badness (fuel, coolant, oil or anything out of the ordinary). 

• Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have noticed now that I have a cruiser, I run the blower all of the time. I don't mind because I can't hear it until I drop anchor or tie up and shut the engine off. When I had a cuddy cabin, I always shut it off when I left the dock because is was much louder.

2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!