Personal opinion or political comment removed.

124»

Comments

• halifax212halifax212 Member Posts: 553 ✭✭✭
    A bit late to the thread but I work as a commercial printer in Halifax Nova Scotia. It's a family started by my father in 1947. Worked summer jobs there from age 14 to 19 when I stayed on full time. 40 years in the same trade.It has provided a good living, nothing over the top, but enough to be able to participate in fun things in life.
  • Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
    And a mighty fine printer you are. 
  • LaReaLaRea Member Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Well, the total cost of ownership also includes depreciation and the cost of money (i.e., interest that could have been earned if the money wasn't tied up in a boat).  But those aren't big factors for a $28k boat.  

Before I bought my first boat in '98, I built a spreadsheet to analyze the total cost of ownership with slip fees, fuel, maintenance and the rest.  The bottom line was a real shocker.  Obviously, we got the boat anyway.  Some of my guesses weren't perfect, but I knew what I was getting into.  

In general, the annual cost will be 10% to 20% of the boat's value.  For me, it's 20% because I use her a lot and treat her like a princess.  
  • BayrunnerBayrunner Member Posts: 177 ✭✭✭
    I work for the Department of Defense as a Technical Leader/Program Manager. I traveled all over the Middle East doing various mission.  Put in my time to protect my country I love so much and now I stay state side leaving that work for the young ones. Now I lead certain efforts around Ft Meade area. 
    Bayrunner -- FV312 - Simple Pleasure
  • rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Very cool! I went to high school in Bahrain and lived in Riyadh back in the 70's..
  • Dude_HimselfDude_Himself Member Posts: 596 ✭✭✭
    Same as @rasbury: 20' cuddy on a trailer cost the same as my 280EC on the trailer, except my tow vehicle is bigger (and also rarely moved unless I'm pulling the boat).