Options

Should I install a stern thruster for my 342?

I am totally new to boating and purchased a 2006 rinker 342 with bow thruster but still feel very tough to docking. Should I install a stern thruster or not?  Is that stern thruster really useful?

Comments

• Options
    skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    I would hire a captain to teach you how to handle the boat honestly.  Twins and a bow thruster should make docking pretty easy after some practice.  Don't waste money on a Stern thruster.
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3
  • Options
    LaReaLaRea Member, Moderator Posts: 7,554 mod
    No.  Just no.

You don't need a stern thruster.  You need practice.  A boat that size, with twin engines and a bow thruster?  Anyone can learn to do it if they are willing to practice.
  • Options
    Liberty44140Liberty44140 Member Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Agree, while I’d take a free bow thruster I don’t see the need for the bow thruster on my 06 342 let alone stern. Nice that you have the bow but spend your time learning the boat, not your money on a stern thruster 
    07' Cruisers 390 (Previous Rinker's: 06' 342EC & 01' 310FV)

• Options
    reneechris14reneechris14 Member Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Practice practice practice, put your money somewhere else.
    2005 Rinker FV342  Pawcatuck river,Ct
  • Options
    liuxue2010liuxue2010 Member Posts: 30
    Great suggestions and I will practice more and save money for sedek carpet
  • Options
    StodgeStodge Member Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭✭
    Having 2 outdrives makes the 342 pretty maneuverable.  If you were talking about a boat with a single shaft and ruder then thrusters would make more sense.

The 342 is not exactly what I'd call a starter boat.  It would have been helpful to have experience with a smaller boat with less wind exposure.  

So as stated, practice practice practice.

2002 FV 342 on Lake St. Clair - Past Commodore SHC - Vessel Examiner USCGAUX

• Options
    DanD2DanD2 Member Posts: 847 ✭✭✭