Options

installing vv7 in 280ec dash

did someone ever install a vessel view 7 in a 280ec  and remove all the bad faria gauges . my boat is still wrapped and was wondering if it can be done 

Comments

  • Options
    Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It can be done. Once I had VVM, I wanted to install VV on my 280EC. All you need to do is run the line from the engine to the dash. You need a new fuel sender. That’s about it. 
    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Options
    YYZRCYYZRC Member Posts: 4,984 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I installed in a 2008 330. Highly recommend. 
    2008 350 EC on Georgian Bay
  • Options
    tazdeviltazdevil Member Posts: 45
    what i meant is will a vv7 fit in a 280ec dash if i remove the gauges ?
  • Options
    Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What are the dimensions of the VV7? 
    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Options
    tazdeviltazdevil Member Posts: 45
  • Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
     

    Vessel View 903. Put in last fall on my ‘03 342. 100% digital baby! 

    Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • Options
    goalie59goalie59 Member Posts: 327 ✭✭✭
    Looks great BD. Did you have to install the vessel view link or were the wires run directly to your display. 
  • Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I had previously put in the VV mobile So I had already run the wires and J-Boxes.  Super easy to do, I think I spent ~$300 for the cables and J-Boxes needed.  Did have to add the NEMA 2000 converter as the 903 will only use that.  Added the analog to digital fuel level converter. I have el
    zero analog gauges now. Most of the original ones were unreliable anyways. 

    I only had maybe an hour to play around with the display before I had winter haulout. So excited to get in the water and play with it. 

    Do note that with Merc twins the engines are both set up as “starboard” ID so you have to rename the port engine. You need to Merc software to do that. I just had my marina maintenance folk do that.  

    Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • Options
    goalie59goalie59 Member Posts: 327 ✭✭✭
    Thanks BD. I went all through that including installing the Merc gateway so I could hook up to my Raymarine gps. I find that with the Ray gps and the gauges all on the screen that it is too busy so was thinking of the separate vv7 for just the engine info but Merc said that I would need to run it through their vessel view link ? Not sure why I would need that. 
  • Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I believe the VV link is basically the networking to connect more devices. I’ve got a contact at Merc for this stuff. I will dig it up and let you know.  

    Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • Options
    Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭✭✭

    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Options
    Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It could probably be done, but it would be tight. 
    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Options
    tazdeviltazdevil Member Posts: 45
    thank you cableguy  we are still in confinement here and no acces to our boat yet
Sign In or Register to comment.