Options

High Altitude and Mercruiser 6.2L 300HP + Bravo III Drive

caseymerazcaseymeraz Member Posts: 4
Hey all, I'm new to boat ownership and I'm looking to purchase a 320 Rinker with the mercruiser 6.2L 300HP + Bravo III Drives.

I didn't realize that there needs to be some work done to make it ready for high altitude.

Does anyone know the best approach here to make the boat high altitude ready? 

Comments

• Options
    Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I’m not sure you have too with fuel injection. The computer takes care of the mixture unless you have carburetors 
  • Options
    Much like a car. You don’t do anything to a car to go over a mountain. Right?
  • Options
    I guess the dealer mentioned it today so now I have concerns lol. But I don't know enough about it. They mentioned the gear ratio needs to be changed. 
  • Options
    Are you sure you want to own a boat? LOL
  • Options
    Aqua_AuraAqua_Aura Member Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This sounds like the dealer is using some bad data such as thinking of a carb engine. The engine will probably make a little less power at altitude however I can't imagine it will be a big enough difference that you need to change years in the out drive. I would say worst case if you need a little push you could at some point change the prop to Hill 4x4 props. 

What altitude will you be boating at? 
    1997 Bayliner 3988
  • Options
    Thanks Aqua_Aura. Primarily at 5,500 but we were also planning mountain trips at 8,284
  • Options
    aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭✭✭
    @caseymeraz , I don’t think you have to worry about it.
    2008 330EC
  • Options
    That's definitely high. @Lake_Bum is possibly in your area just by looking at your screen name. He may have some insight as well. 
    1997 Bayliner 3988
  • Options
    69fastback69fastback Member Posts: 950 ✭✭✭
  • Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭