Options

Engine not giving power, 280EC 2010

Hi all,

I took my 280EC 2010 (350 MAG) out today, and everything went according to plan. When I throttled up into approx. 4000 rpms everything still went smoothly. Then - out of the blue 5 minutes later, the rpms started to drop, and the engine went kinda like if it was drenched in gas while a smell of gasoline started. Oli psi was raised to 60-ish, while 40 being normal. I could not get the rpms back up above 3000-ish and still a severe lack of power. 

When in low rpm everything was fine - psi went back to normal, then smell og gasoline disappeared. 

Any ideas?

PS. I am a novice when it comes to engines and all, so please bear with me :blush:

Comments

• Options
    skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    The smell of gas is scary...don't run the boat until you figure that out.  Very dangerous.

I would find a mercruiser mechanic to put a diagnostic tool on it.
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3
  • Options
    rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yep- beyond me - fuel swirling around is not goid!
  • Options
    Aqua_AuraAqua_Aura Member Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I wonder if a fuel leak came about and that might explain the smell and no power above 3000. Not sure about the oil pressure though. Have you looked in the engine bay at all with the engine running to do some troubleshooting? 
    1997 Bayliner 3988
  • Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020
    no new beeps?  

sounds like you hit guardian mode... 

given the conditions you describe, pushing up to 4k for five minutes may have exposed an issue with cooling... which will trigger guardian mode and result in a loss of power from 20 to 100% (shut down).  

at that point, basically the engine stops sparking- but as it's turning that fuel is still being delivered which can result in smelling it as you did...