Options

How did you learn?

First boat and learning to drive a boat. I'm finding it nerve wracking! Current and wind make the boat feel like it's on ice. A single screw diesel with no bow thruster means I'm kicking forward or reverse then neutral immediately.

Any tips from the veterans? How did you learn to maneuver in close quarters?

Thanks in advance.

Art
2013 290 ec - Volvo Penta D4/DP

Comments

• Options
    TonyWalkerTonyWalker Member Posts: 744 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2013
    Art,  I bet a 270 owner or two will give you some tips.  One particularly good 270 close quarters operator that I know of is "Tiki Hut".  All of my docking experience is self taught and yours can be too with some good information.  Twins with counter rotating props make things a bit more straight forward than with a single engine.  But you will learn and in time you will get "almost" comfortable.  You will first experience this at your home dock because that is where you will dock most often.  You will learn to use momentum and short power bursts to your advantage. The wind can be your friend too once you get the hang of analyzing each situation.  And another friend is wood pilings  I had a wood piling located on the far side of the boat from the dock spring me right to the dock when I sort of bounced off if it.  It made me look like an expert but it was more luck. But I now know how effective such a tactic can be.   It will all come together with time.

Tony
    Salt Shaker 342
  • Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2013