Options

Need to confirm boat model number for Insurance

Hi all

I'm new to boating and in need of assistance.  I need to confirm my Rinker boat model for insurance.  My carrier has it listed as 2002 Rinker 192 Captiva bow rider and I say it's a 212 captiva bow rider.  Where I can I go to confirm the model number?  I have the HID number but am unable to find the info online.

Answers

• Options
    TonyG13TonyG13 Member Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2020
    Not being sarcastic, just measure the boat and you will know.

Rinker made both in 2002, and one is 19' long and the other is 21' long.

Also, the beam on the 212 is 8'-6", while the 192 is 8'.

You can find the build year by using the HIN, but not sure about model numbers.

And there could/should be graphics that say "Captiva 212", etc. Are there none on yours like this?

If Rinker is still answering the phone, you could also try them.
  • Options
    IanIan Member Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭✭
    Mine is 2003 FV310 but the insurance calls it a 312 based on the HIN and wherever they verify HIN’s against. There must be a master record like a VIN.

Regards,

Ian

The Third “B”

Secretary, Ravena Coeymans Yacht Club

https://www.rcyachtclub.com/

• Options
    bzp1bzp1 Member Posts: 6
    edited October 2020
    The boat does have the decals and they are printed to read "Captiva 212" so I agree that this should be the model but I bought the boat used and we all know how folks can change stuff.
    I tried emailing Rinker but it returned as "email recipient not found".  As for calling them, well... good luck.
    I called a dealer but did not receive a callback even though I spoke to someone at the shop.
    I spoke with my insurance agent and she only offered that I research it on the internet.  (?!?!?!?!?!?!)
    Determining the boat model is turning out to be a challenge.

I certainly appreciate the comments and I'm not offended by some light sarcasm. ;-)
  • Options
    mattiemattie Member Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭✭