Interesting Bilge Pump Questions

I dewinterized our 2000 270FV. I was flushing water through the system by running both sinks. The water pump turns on using the Bilge switch. The Galley Pump switch does nothing. I ran water for a while and smelled burning plastic. In the mid compartment where the seacock and AC pump are, the little read and black bilge pump (I assume that is what it is) was hot and melting. My thoughts, I have two things wired to the Bilge pump switch and nothing wired to the Galley Pump switch (although there are leads/wires on the back of the switch??) However, my understanding with Bilge pumps is that they only run when there is water to pump. Similar to a float on a home sump pump.
Can someone please educate me? How should I fix? Lastly, what is the plastic container with wires coming out of it? Thanks to all, I am new to this! :blush:  

Comments

• TonyG13TonyG13 Member Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2021
    I'll answer your last question first: The little plastic box with wires is your shower sump/bilge pump. It should be able to be traced back to a floor drain in your head area.

When you say the "galley switch" does nothing how are you turning on your fresh water pump to run your sink faucet - or are you saying when you turn on the bilge switch that the faucet (fresh water) pump turns on? If so, someone screwed up your wiring.

If you're smelling a burning smell, that's not good. I'd swap out your pump and float with a new bilge pump. They don't cost that much and yours look like they're not fastened down anymore anyway - also not good.

Post edited by TonyG13 on
  • Aqua_AuraAqua_Aura Member Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2021