Options

2006 360EC Battery knowledge needed

LeReveLeReve Member Posts: 9
The battery for my starboard motor is dead. I am a rookie and don't know which battery to change. I know "MEGA-ROOKIE". I have looked through my manual but find nothing specific. I also looked in the engine compartment but did not see any indication of "port" or "starboard". Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    TonyG13TonyG13 Member Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2022
    If you don't already have one, get yourself a voltmeter then test each battery. They are not expensive (you can find a decent one for under $30). And it's an essential boat tool that everyone should own and learn how to use. That will definitively tell you which battery is bad.
  • Options
    prgrod01prgrod01 Member Posts: 53 ✭✭
    if one battery is dead, likely others are close behind as well. if your lucky there will be the manufacture date stamp or sticker to let you know how old they are. 

if you know what engine you can follow the very large black or red cables from the engine back to the battery. black comes from a ground stud on the backside of the engine block. red comes form the starter, lower bottom of the engine.
    2001 Rinker 242
  • Options
    LaReaLaRea Member, Moderator Posts: 7,555 mod
    Physically tracing battery cables can be difficult.  Often the cable just disappears into a bundle.  It's easier to disconnect each battery one at a time, and see what stops working.  Then label each cable for next time.  
  • Options
    LaRea said:
    Physically tracing battery cables can be difficult.  Often the cable just disappears into a bundle.  It's easier to disconnect each battery one at a time, and see what stops working.  Then label each cable for next time.  
    Thank you!
  • Options
    prgrod01 said: