Options

Rinker 28 Express Cruiser - Water Leak

Hi, excuse my lack of nautical terminology but have just purchased a 2009 Rinker 28ft Express Cruiser in the UK. The seems to be a sizeable water leak at the rear sleeping area that 'pools' at the footwell at the bottom of the stairs leading from the cockpit.

I have not got a clue where and how to start looking, hence posing the question to see if anyone out there has any experience or heard about this. I can forward a picture.

Thank you in anticipation.

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    newtoboatingnewtoboating Member Posts: 12
    Thanks, i should have added that the leak seems to be on the 'port side' (had to look up which side was which - told you i was a novice). Anyways that is the side which is used to fill up the water tank, the side where the galley is and obviously there is the port window i now need to consider which i should look at in order of how easy it is to access (and rule out), before i move on to my next suspected cause. Also, heard that Rinker have posted problems with the radar arch?
  • Options
    TikiHut2TikiHut2 Member Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I hadn't heard any chatter on arch problems but if the arch is caulked at the attachment point and any penetrations that seems less likely to be the issue than ports/railing/internal issues. If you really feel it's an arch leak simply try wrapping it in visqueen and hosing other suspect areas or waiting for a rain.

I think RBOC member Tony mentioned an arch leak in his 342. Do a search in the archives and it may come up.

Do you keep a travel cover over the cockpit? Have you eliminated anything already mentioned by RY or myself? Our boats former owner hadn't properly latched the aft cabin port and it allowed water to enter the aft bunk area. Rule out the easy stuff by checking that all the ports are secured as RY said, check the shower sump pump and galley sink drains with a good flow of water too.