Options

To Fog or not to Fog MPI engine

seguirseguir Member Posts: 170 ✭✭✭

Question folks...This is my first year winterizing my boat.  Is it necessary to fog my engine.  ( Year 2009 - 5.7 350mag MPI - Bravo III).  Am I to do anything else in place of fogging? Some one told me I should not be fogging a MPI engine.

Comments

• Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2013
    Map sensors don't dig that much... So... Pull it, fog it, put it back in. :-) may be that iac's don't care for it either... Of course, this won't work for hot fogging, just turning the crank cold fogging.
    Post edited by 212rowboat on
  • Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    There is a procedure merc has. Mix gas & 2 stroke oil, put in fuel/water seperator. Run. Remove replace filter. I did this for a few years. I don't bother and just rely on stablizer. I store inside heated tho too.

Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • Options
    http://www.amsoil.com/shop/by-product/other-products/cleaners-and-protectants/engine-fogging-oil/?page=/storefront/fog.aspx

You can use this stuff... It 'sposedly works pretty well.. pull oil fill cap, spray in one valve cover, pull pcv, spray in other... Pull iac, and map, cover, pull coil wire, spray into induction while turning engine with starter.. this will take care of valve springs, rockers, seats (keep a solid bead on them), intake manifold (displace h2o), bead it, valve faces, cylinder walls, and a few inches of exhaust manifolds...

You gotta hope the valley, pushrods (that didn't get smogged through valve covers) and crankcase are protected by a good quality oil in the crankcase, that hopefully contains good amount of zinc..

The fuel systems, well, all I got for that is to treat it.. I reckon Mr. Diamonds rec of the merc recs are the way to go..

When you're done, just button it up by putting sensors back in and replacing coil wire.