is there a better prop?

I am relatively new to boating and I just picked up a 2014 mtx extreme 200 that I love.. My question is this...My boat came with a high five prop and it works well but I would like to get more top speed so I was wondering if going to a 3 blade or 4 blade would help ?  And if so what are the downfalls of changing.. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Also what kind of mph gains could I expect..

Comments

• 212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2013
    either a three or four will definitely get you more speed, given it's pitched right and has the right geometry..

the high five, according to some experts i've talked to on other websites, are not to be included into discussions about general prop characteristics- they are in a class all their own, for instance, the extra blade (or two) will not decrease RPM's such as an extra blade added or lost between a three and four blade... the pitch needed is more inline to a three or four blade and the dropping of pitch isn't somethign considered... in short terms: if a high five pitched in 21 gets you to your RPM range, expect a similar geometry 21p three blade to be similar.. the high five will be considerably slower, though, all agree to.. the bite, considerably more (less slippage), all agree to.

what engine are you running?

as far as economy, a general rule is the slowest you can go and still comfortably hold plane is your optimum cruising speed for economy- and the high five or a four blade will do that, generally, at a lower RPM (and forward speed) than a three blade..
  • kram925kram925 Member Posts: 9

the motor is a 4.3 220 hp

so if what I am reading is correct if I were to switch to a 3 blade and kept the same pitch I would gain mph if that is true how much ? and will I lose a lot of low end out of the hole???