Oil drain kit

mxracrmxracr Member Posts: 11
I have a 1996 Captiva 212 with the 5.7 engine. I'm thinking of adding one of those oil drain hoses that attach to the oil pan and then the hose will fit through the drain plug. I'm a newb, so bare with me. I have seen these on ebay for about $25. The issue that I have heard is that some wont fit through the hole in the transom. (defeats the purpose) Also, does the anyone know which size I should be looking at if it did fit through the hole after removing the plug. Thanks guys.

Comments

• mxracrmxracr Member Posts: 11

When I said drain plug, I mean the plug in the transom. Not the oil drain plug. It would be replaced by the hose, I presume.

• JoeStangJoeStang Member Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭✭
    Easiest way to find out is measure the ID of the drain plug and make sure the OD of the hose is smaller.

Does your engine have the threaded fitting on the dipstick? If so you can suction out the oil from there instead of getting under the engine to loosen the oil drain plug.
    2013 276 Cuddy ~ 350 MAG / B3
  • 212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    My personal opinion, FWIW, is go to a metal fabrication supplier.. they usually sell pressure fittings, too.. have them fit a pressure hose long enough to reach through the transom and out the bilge drain, and mated to a plug you screw in and off.. the other side to a fitting that fits the crankcase.. drill a hole through the nut body of the drain plug that fits through the transom, and attach a small cable wire or use heavy fishing line to attach it to the drain plug..

This allows two things.. you can let your plug dangle when you pull it, and not lose it, and you can fish the oil drain out by pulling the plug and hose, right through the bilge drain.
  • Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭