Options

Kohler 5E generator PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!

kypraioskypraios Member Posts: 7

Comments

• Options

I am new to this.

I have a 2002 Rinker 310 Fiesta Vee with a 5E Kohler generator with 110 hours on the clock, I have been having problems with it lately.

When I start it I have to manually pull the choke to start up the generator (it won’t start from inside the panel) then it runs fine for 4-6 minutes then suddenly it drops the rpm and the voltage nearly until it cuts off during this the throttle lever pulls down and then it revs up and pulls the throttle back up again this takes 4-8 second each way and continues to do this all the time. I have changed the following so far GM10516 Relay Control panel, fuel pump, Switch rocker, high temperature shutoff, Spark plugs Fuel Filter, Oil Filter impeller.

Also the other problem that I have is the impeller lasts from 30 minutes to a 10 hours what happens is that the metal ring spins inside the rubber impeller (it separates the rubber from the metal ring).

I live in Cyprus and there only few gasoline Kochler generators and I can’t find a mechanic to fix it even the local agent can’t help me.

Can any one help me?

George

• Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For the impeller problem, assuming you have the correct impeller installed, I bet you have a water restriction causing it to run dry/hot.  A few suggestions:
    Check your raw water strainer that is is clean and not clogged
    Check your raw water inlet at the hull that is is free of obstructions
    Check the anode in the heat exchanger (they can break off if worn badly and plug the outlet
    Backflush the heat exchanger to get any pieces of impeller out (make certain you use the correct hose to run the water backwards or you'll fill the engine with water)