Options

Emptying fuel tank

Robs_232Robs_232 Member Posts: 212 ✭✭✭

I bought my 2004 Captiva 232 from my sister last fall and want to start out this year with fresh fuel. I had a dealer winterize it last fall with a full tank (75 gal), but I don't know how fresh it is since my sister and BOL hardly used it the past several years. Actually I think I might be the last one to put gas in it. I am interested in hearing the best way to siphon/drain all of the fuel from the tank. I told my son he can have the gas since he's a college kid (ha ha). I did run the boat last fall and it ran fine but just want to start fresh. Will probably blend it to use it with price of gas. Thoughts welcome!

Comments

• Options
    rinker312rinker312 Member Posts: 255 ✭✭
    I'd personally just run it. I've had plenty of experience with fuel problems, ethanol, etc. and if the gas was bad you wouldn't be running or barely getting above idle. But if you really feel the need what I had to do when I had a tank of ethanol gas separate on me was to buy a cheap fuel pump from the auto parts store. Remove fuel line and connect to fuel pump and add a little piece of line to go into your collection can. I put a set of alligator clips on the pump so I just hook to battery and she starts pumping. The nice thing about this approach is that it sucks from the bottom of the tank which will be where the bad fuel or water is. Good luck

2004 Rinker 312, 5.0 Merc's, Bravo III, Lake Wheeler, AL

• Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,563 mod
    Let me add, if you do it yourself, be very careful. Alligator clips do cause sparks. Only takes a small amount of fuel (take it from someone that experienced it)

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• Options
    rinker312rinker312 Member Posts: 255 ✭✭
    Yes very good point I should have added that. I put like an 8 foot extension wire on the pump so that the pump could be a good distance away from the battery I was hooking up to