Options

1994 Rinker 265 Fiesta Vee

Hi all:

This is my first time here.  I have been shopping for a boat in the 23 to 27 foot range.  I am going to look at a 1994 265 Fiesta Vee. It looks like a very nice boat but I know from experience that looks don't mean a thing.  I really dont know anything about Rinkers quality etc when compared to Sea Ray, Regal etc.  Are there any common problems with that model that I should be looking for.  I have already paid for 2 surveys on one Regal & one Sea Ray both ending badly.

Thanks

Bruce

Comments

• Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Rinker boats are built tough. I have purchased 5 new and had very few (only very minor and common to all boats) problems.The hulls are very tough. As a rule, the fiberglass and gel coat are well laid-up and applied. A survey is a great idea and money well spent because even very knowledgable boaters can purchase a bad hull (osmosis water damage). If the boat looks clean and as if it has been maintained that is certainly a good sign. What is the power package Mercruiser or Volvo? How many hours are on the power package. My friend used to have one of these with a 5.7 liter 260 Hp Mercruiser. It rode very nice in chop. If my memory is correct the cabin and front berth are carpeted. What shape is the carpet in - does it show any signs of water leaks? Have you tried the head, does it work well? the stove? Have you inspected the water and waste tanks for signs of leaks? I think the "average" price for this boat should be in about the $15,000.00 range - is that about right? I hope one of the forum owners with a 265 jumps-in here. Welcome to the forum, if you proceed to the survey stage I hope it turns-out well! MT  
  • Options
    BruceBruce Member Posts: 167 ✭✭
    Bruce,