Options

FUEL GAUGE PEGGED AT FULL

Webb232BRWebb232BR Member Posts: 4

First, I was an ATT Senior Technician for 18 years so I know a little about electrical stuff.  With that this simple circuit is kicking my butt and pride.  I just installed a new sender (checked prior to installing; 33-240 ohms, and several times now after installing).  I have removed the instrumentation cluster to access the gauge.  Should I be getting 12V from the I (ignition) over to the S (Sender) when I turn the key on?  I get FULL reading with the sender hooked up with the boat's original wiring or my straight wiring (wires from the S sender and the GRD lug on the sender housing using wires laid across the floor) either one.  I have wired straight from the negative battery post to the gauge and used my wiring and got the same FULL reading.  I have used an external fuel gauge and got the same FULL reading.  IDEAS??  ANYONE???

Is there an electronic/downloadable schematic for this boat?  1998 Captiva 232BR

5.7L 1998 Captiva 232BR, Bravo III, Trailered 2-3 weekends/month, Tubing/Skiing/Cruising

Comments

• Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It may be that your float is hung up..
  • Options

OK, I went back to my boat yesterday to do some more troubleshooting after posting this issue.  I turned the key on and the gauge worked!  If it "fails" again now then I know I have a wiring issue. 

I am prepared to run new wires from dash to transom, if needed.  Anybody have ideas on best method to get that done?

5.7L 1998 Captiva 232BR, Bravo III, Trailered 2-3 weekends/month, Tubing/Skiing/Cruising
  • Options
    use the existing wires to pull the new ones..