Options

Mercruiser MAG 350 Problems

MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭✭✭
Well, I've posted this in the Rinker Boat Owners Forum - but that site is down now.

My brand new 350 MAG started consuming oil after 30 hours. Problem has been getting worse - it now consumes 350 mL every 2 to 3 hours of operation at cruise speeds (about 1/3rd a quart).  The boat was taken out of the water for winterization and is at the dealer now to fix this. We did compression tests which showed 40% leakage through several cylinders.

Anyhow, we've been after Mercruiser for about 3 weeks now to tell us what to do.  When we first called several months ago they said they would sort me out, now they have not responded in 3 weeks!  I'm getting a bit tired of it.  Do the warranties mean nothing any longer??  A customer shouldn't have to go through what I'm going through.  I did everything right on my side. Being an engineer I strictly followed the break in procedure.  Now, it seems I have to fight to get any attention.

It's a bit dissapointing to be quite honest.

I'll keep you posted.

Boat Name: King Kong

"Boat + Water = Fun"

Comments

• Options
    l-skynyrdl-skynyrd Member Posts: 178 ✭✭✭
    Mark......

Glad to see some people from the RBO on here. I can't help with you question since I have a 342.
    I have also seen mike342 on here and Babyboomer joined back in 2010. I still think this forum is better
    than facebook. What do you think?

Len

You have to love the water....

Len & Robyn   342 FV  Freebird

• Options
      Hey Len. Yes this is better than Facebook but RBO was much easier to use. Hope they get the site back up soon.

"Boat + Water = Fun"

• Options
    Well, Mercruiser called and they want one more test done. They want to decarbonize the cylinders to see if the rings are stuck.
    If that doesn't work (they will do a leak down test after that), then they will give me a new engine.