Options

Stereo unit replacment

KYSEANKYSEAN Member Posts: 121 ✭✭
edited July 2014 in Electrical Discussions

I was thinking of replacing the stereo on my boat, not the speakers at this time. They seem pretty decent. How does one find a unit that will fit the same as the one that came with the boat. I've never done it before, hence the basic question. thanks, Sean

2012 Rinker BR216 5.0
Post edited by mvn on

Comments

• Options
    JoeStangJoeStang Member Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭✭

If its a single din, then any other single din will physically fit.

Do you have any remote displays? Those are what you need to make sure work with the new head unit.

2013 276 Cuddy ~ 350 MAG / B3
  • Options
    MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sean, I haven't done this before but if I had to do it I would make a template of the cut out and take it to a car audio shop. They may find a unit that will fit, but they also have frames that fit around the head unit to close up holes. I'm sure they can sort out your problem. 

Boat Name: King Kong

"Boat + Water = Fun"

• Options
    LaReaLaRea Member, Moderator Posts: 7,550 mod
    Make sure you get a marine stereo.  Car stereo equipment won't last long on a boat because of the shock/vibration and moisture.

• Options

No remote displays. Please fill me in on what a single Din is? Thanks all

2012 Rinker BR216 5.0
  • Options
    JC290JC290 Member Posts: 706 ✭✭✭

with no remotes any good marine radio will fit if you want you could upgrade to one with a remote. I did that on my old rinker one of the best things I did. Mine was placed on top part of helm so I could change it when I wanted too. Pretty straight forward instal either way you go 

• Options

Any extra wiring with a remote?

2012 Rinker BR216 5.0
  • Options
    midwestemidweste Member Posts: 135 ✭✭

Hey Sean,