Looking to buy a 2009 or 2008 Rinker 280 Express Cruiser - need input

bertgorbertgor Member Posts: 7

Hi all:

I am new to this so I hope I am doing this right.  I have 2 Rinker 208 EC's I am looking at.

I was hoping I could get some feedback from a few of you who may have this boat.  I am attracted to it for a variety of reasons.  Some are small enough to tow, generator, AC, available 496 MAG with closed cooling, good layout for our family. 

My questions:

What type of performance can I expect from a 280EC with a 496?  Cruise and WOT?

I have never had a boat with AC.  How well does the AC work on the gen when underway?

How loud is the gen when running?

How is the handling on this boat with a bravo 3?

Thanks!

Bert

Comments

• The Main ExchangeThe Main Exchange Member Posts: 280 ✭✭✭

Bert, we have a 2007 280 EC with gen, ac heat, 8.1 etc.. Where are you located? All round good boat, we cruise around the San Juan Islands, WA.

2007 300 EC, 350 Mags, B3's, Table Rock Lake, MO

• Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭

Wow, now there are two guys on this page (recent discussions) thinking of buying 270/280s. You two should compare notes. My 2 cents get the generator and definately get the 496 mag. The 270/280/290 is way too big for a 350 or 377. MT

• The Main ExchangeThe Main Exchange Member Posts: 280 ✭✭✭

I agree get the generator, even though ours currently wont start lol, ac heat, and most important the 8.1, the power is great with all the extra options.

2007 300 EC, 350 Mags, B3's, Table Rock Lake, MO

• seguirseguir Member Posts: 170 ✭✭✭

My wife and I have a 2009 280.....love it, no gen set, and it only has the 5.7.  It runs great at 4200 RPM doing 23 to 24mph.  I DO wish I had a larger engine, but we are making due with the 5.7.   The bravo 3 makes it a little easier to dock, but it will take a while to get use to.  This boat suits our needs....great for two or three people.
  • seguirseguir Member Posts: 170 ✭✭✭