Options

Battery Switch

aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,805 ✭✭✭✭✭

Do you guys run with the switch on both, 1 or 2? My boat has an isolator, I'm new to battery isolators and not sure what I should keep the switch on.

2008 330EC

Comments

• Options

I normally will start and run on 1 then switch over to 2 when anchored. Do I have to play with the switch or can I leave it on both?

2008 330EC
  • Options
    TikiHut2TikiHut2 Member Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2014

Chapmans....... :D

2004 FV270, 300hp 5.7 350mag MPI Merc 305hrs, 2:20 Bravo3 OD w.22p props, 12v Lenco tabs, Kohler 5kw genset, A/C, etc.etc...
    Regular weekender, Trailer stored indoors, M/V TikiHut, Sarasota, Fl
  • Options
    edited July 2014

Here is a pic of how the battery's are set up. You can see the isolator on the wall to the left and the two red power wires that go up to the switch. (This pic is when I first got the boat,everything is much cleaner now) 

2008 330EC
  • Options
    TikiHut2 said:

Chapmans....... :D

I didn't get to that chapter yet! LoL

2008 330EC
  • Options
    JoeStangJoeStang Member Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭✭

I am pretty sure it will charge BOTH batteries regardless of where the switch is at.

My switch looks like this, and the only time I ever put it to combine is if I ran the starting battery down and needed the house battery to start the engine.  And vice versa if I ran the house battery down and needed to use the starting battery for a 12V function like the GPS.

httpwwwmoererdeimagesproduct_imagespopup_imagesBS7650jpg

2013 276 Cuddy ~ 350 MAG / B3
  • Options

This is what mine looks like but black ( I don't think color makes a difference)

2008 330EC
  • Options
    MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭✭✭