Options

Winterizing the water system

Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭✭✭
Since I am new to the cruiser arena, I am trying to start a punch list of things to do. The one thing that I am debating is whether to put pink stuff in the water tank and water system or to blow the entire thing out with air. A fellow Rinker cruiser owner that I am friends with uses the pink stuff in the entire system. I don't want to deal with the system smelling or being contaminated with the pink stuff in the spring. What are your thoughts???
2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
Go Steelers!!!

Comments

• Options
    Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you storing inside/heated or where it can freeze?  If the latter, go pink stuff. Flush in the spring and then run a partial tank with a few teaspoons of unscented bleach, run, let sit, flush. You'll be good to go. 

If inside heated, i just add a bit of pink to the tank for the winter and flush like above in the spring. 

Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • Options
    aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Don't put any pink in the tank! Just empty it as much as you can. Then remove the waterline off of the pump and use a hose to pump directly out of the antifreeze jugs. The remaining water in the tank will freeze but will not harm the tank. Once you put the pink stuff in your tank it will take the whole season to get rid of the smell.
    2008 330EC
  • Options
    rinker312rinker312 Member Posts: 255 ✭✭
    I have always done the pink stuff and then bleach in the spring as diamond said. 

2004 Rinker 312, 5.0 Merc's, Bravo III, Lake Wheeler, AL

• Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,560 mod