X

Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭

X

Post edited by Michael T on

Answers

  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
    MT,
    If your microwave is let say 1200 watts and voltage is 120 volts,it would draw 10 amps and probably more on start up up to 25% depending of the quality of the unit so a 15amps breaker would be fine, if you could look on the spec.plate of the unit it should tell you how many amps the unit would require.
    Paul
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • MarkBMarkB OntarioPosts: 3,267Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    You should look up the owners manual online to check the starting amps, which can be much higher than the running amps. 

    Boat Name: King Kong

    "Boat + Water = Fun"

  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
    MT .
     On my boat the breaker size is 30 amps
    Paul
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
    frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 366Member ✭✭✭
    MT .
     On my boat the breaker size is 30 amps
    Paul
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • MarkBMarkB OntarioPosts: 3,267Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    Boats in storage, Will give you an answer in may. Lol. 

    Boat Name: King Kong

    "Boat + Water = Fun"

  • SerenitySerenity Long Island, New YorkPosts: 162Member ✭✭✭
    My breaker is also on a 30 amp.
  • JC290JC290 Bolles Harbor MichPosts: 706Member ✭✭✭
    As is mine
  • Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Pittsburgh, PAPosts: 3,881Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    According to my panel diagram, mine is on a 20A breaker.
    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • JC290JC290 Bolles Harbor MichPosts: 706Member ✭✭✭
    Ok MT what's the story you have a lot of electrical questions 
  • MarkBMarkB OntarioPosts: 3,267Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    20 amp would be my guess. 

    Boat Name: King Kong

    "Boat + Water = Fun"

  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014



    Post edited by Michael T on
  • JC290JC290 Bolles Harbor MichPosts: 706Member ✭✭✭
    Suspense is killing me lol
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • JC290JC290 Bolles Harbor MichPosts: 706Member ✭✭✭
    MT how's the info?
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014
    I
    Post edited by Michael T on
  • JC290JC290 Bolles Harbor MichPosts: 706Member ✭✭✭
    Talked to the three owners in my marina two have 20 amp and the other is a 30 amp. The 30 and one of the 20 are the same microwave excatly 
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • Michael TMichael T Posts: 6,558Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2014

    X

    Post edited by Michael T on
  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
     While on this subject I had to remove my windlass to work on it , Lewmar instructions said that the wire going to the windlass had to be 4awg, the wiring diagram from Rinker says 4awg. To my surprise the actual wire is 10awg on my boat and this is with a 70 amps breaker isolator. I guess I have to live with that since if I try to replace with the right size wire that would be a major job.....
    so Mt and RY I am not surprise of your finding..........."
    Paul
  • Dream_InnDream_Inn Annapolis, MDPosts: 5,194Member, Moderator mod
    Wow!  10awg on a windlass is asking for trouble big time.  Now I'm thinking I better look at some of my wiring.  That windlass can suck up some amps (especially if one doesn't know what they are doing and use it to pull the boat).

    Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
    I am going to be very careful using my windlass in the futur......it his scary.
  • frenchshipfrenchship Québec ,CanadaPosts: 1,079Member ✭✭✭
    I kind of knew that but that is what Rinker installed on my boat and it seems that I am stuck with it for now .
Sign In or Register to comment.