Flotilla Wiring

KernKern Member Posts: 6
Hi All,

Newbie here.  I bought a 2000 Flotilla last August.  It has a Mercruiser 5.7 EFI with a Bravo III outdrive.  I enjoyed using the boat for the short season I had it last year and am looking forward to this year's boating time.

As background, I am an automotive engineer with many years experience in the automotive and support industries and have specialized in lighting and electrical.

I started to do a spring cleanup and preparation for the coming season.  During this work I was digging into the innards of the boat.  I discovered that the electrical harnesses on this boat are what the English would call "A dog's breakfast".

I found wires that were too long, poorly routed, and not adequately protected.  In addition the battery is in the engine compartment and the engine compartment lid is opened by an electrical lift, so if the battery is dead, there is no way to access it for jumping or charging it.

In general, it appears that Rnker, despite their many years of history, are still operating in the dark ages when it comes to electrical design and execution.

I am doing some extensive re-engineering and rewiring of the boat to correct what problems I currently see.  There may be others that appear in the future.

This is not a request for assistance or information, just a note to inform other owners if they are interested.

Kern

Comments

• youstolemybeeryoustolemybeer Member Posts: 246 ✭✭✭
    Its not just Rinker, I swear its ALL boat manufacturers.  I think they buy the wire harnesses from Special Ed wire supplies. If I were you I would just clean up what you can do the easiest and then LEAVE IT ALONE.  Otherwise you will end up re-wiring the whole dang boat (been there done that).
    If you do end up redoing all the wires, please follow the marine wire standards.
    Good luck
  • reneechris14reneechris14 Member Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭✭✭