Options

212 Captiva BR 5.7 Range?

HD2PctHD2Pct Member Posts: 13
Hi gang-

Just like 95% of us I am a bit land-locked. I'm here in NE Illinois but on occasion I want to drag the ship onto Lake Michigan in the greater Chicago area. There aren't a lot of gas stops in that neck of the woods. Based on Merc specs, I would consume 21 GPH at WOT, and their specs seem to totally dismiss boat loading. That means basically and maybe at best, a 2-hour range with a 42-gal tank with calm seas (let's at least 50 mph with this boat) and of course I would NEVER get to do that speed on Lake MI under normal condx. I mean, when is it glass smooth?

I am a newbie and could really benefit from your comments here. What are people getting out of their boats in terms of miles range and under what power settings and conditions?

TIA

Comments

• Options
    howardramshowardrams Member Posts: 223 ✭✭✭
    I've had 2 boats with the 5.7 and the most economical cruise is about 25-30 mph, just up on plane, which is approx 3500-4000 rpm.  At that speed you should get about 2 mpg and consume roughly 10 gallons per hour under good lake conditions (waves 2 feet or less).  It was with my old 5000 pound boat and has been about the same with my new 7000 pound boat.  My true results matched pretty well with the published test results for my boats from Boating magazine. I generally never run wide open which really kills fuel mileage.
  • Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    EFI or carb?  what prop style/material/pitch?