Options

A/C not cold...I have questions

TrashmanTrashman Member Posts: 432 ✭✭✭
my 2004 270fv has one a/c-heat unit and it seems like it's not getting cold .  It wasn't very impressive earlier in the season but it's been extremely hot lately here in philly and I feel it isn't working to specs.  
1: what should the temp be at the vent?
2:can it be charged?
3:  if it needs a charge, can that be done while unit is in the boat?
4: are there any filters or serviceable parts I should look at first?

Comments

• Options
    jme097jme097 Member Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭
    your air typically should be between 55-60 degrees. Yes it can be charged with some refrigeration hoses via the valves. You can check the strainer to see if that is restricting flow first but thats it really. I am going to check mine this weekend as well so I was just thinking the same thing. Good thing I work in the HVAC field and can do it myself. lol
    Boat Name: Knot A Worry
    2007 280 Rinker Express 6.2L B3
  • Options
    edited August 2016
    Just to clarify...Are you referencing the water strainer on the circulating pump? I do have a good stream of water exiting the boat but I will doublecheck
    Post edited by Trashman on
  • Options
    jmichelsjmichels Member Posts: 311 ✭✭
    The other thing to check is see if the coil is frozen up. If it is it will get warmer air coming out and not be efficient. If its frozen up its because there is a restriction somewhere . Trying cleaning the coil real good . You can be specific coil cleaner spray at home depot or any HVAC supply house. Be sure to get coil cleaner because its designed to stick on there and break down dirt. Then I took a water bottle and cut a little slit in the cap with a razor blade and squeezed the bottle to shoot out the water and clean it so I didnt make a mess. The water will drain to the bilge and you should be good. Also check filter on return vent. 
  • Options