Mercruiser 6.2 not in synch

My new 2002 Rinker 342 with the 6.2 engines does not show in synch. It is my first twin engine boat so im still learning. I have read that you should rely more on the synch gauge than the tachs however the synch gauge always shows pegged out to the starboard side. To get the needle on the synch gauge to even read halfway between middle and starboard it has to have the port engine full throttle and starboard in neutral.

However there was one day it did work properly and the RPM's were both reading the same and the synch gauge was in the middle. I have been running off of sound and the RPM gauges which have seemed pretty accurate, but on sunday last weekend while coming back to the dock one engine was showing a much higher RPM reading.

Im thinking it may have been just a screwy gauge and itll be better this weekend but just want to get an opinion on the issue.

Should i replace my synch gauge?
Should i look into replacing both RPM gauges?
Should i just ignore it and run by ear?

Comments

• jme097jme097 Member Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭
    Definitely sounds like a gauge issue but I am sure @Alswagg will chime in. 
    Boat Name: Knot A Worry
    2007 280 Rinker Express 6.2L B3
  • frenchshipfrenchship Member Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭
    Those Faria gauges are not reliable, I send mine in twice for repair still did not work properly.
    The said that the have a lifetime warranty but they make you pay a certain amount for repair and shipping. They are not call tap gauge for nothing.I replace mine with a dual tach from
    Flowscan that has a sync gauge incorporated it gets the engines sync within 50 RPM.
  • Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I think the problem is gauges. I would rely more on RPM readings than a sync reading. If one engine was half the rpm of the other you should feel the uneven pull (push).
  • NavyCTRCNavyCTRC Member Posts: 303 ✭✭✭
    brandon,