Options

Crappy fm radio reception

Since we bought our 2011 310 express cruiser in April,  i've been plagued with lackluster FM radio reception.   The radio is never crystal clear. There is always some amount of intermittent static.  Then, when I turn one particular cabin light on, the radio basically  becomes unintelligible due to the increased static.  
  I don't know if I have a ground issue, or an antenna placement issue, or something else.   The intermittent nature of the problem leads me to suspect an antenna/antenna placement issue, but I'm no RF expert. 
 Some specific questions:  where does the antenna run? Does it run up into my radar arch? Does it stop somewhere in the cabin? Could it be laying on a power line for one of the cabin lights? 
If anyone has any thoughts, I'd appreciate the input. 

Comments

• Options
    Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,013 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Some antennas are connected to the TV antenna on the arch. Some just have a wire that plugs into the back of the radio. If it is connected to the TV antenna, make sure all of the connections are tight on the splitters. You might have to open up a compartment or two to find them.
    2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I love Rinkers but the factory connections for their TVs used to be notoriously bad. The connections were often terrible quality - in some cases it looked as if the terminals had just been shoved into the co-ax cable. Simply re-doing the connectors often corrected the situation and resulted in a great picture.
  • Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,563 mod
    edited October 2016

MT, as much as I agree, I believe he is asking about his FM radio reception.  :)