Options

290 FV no forward or reverse

Comments

• Options
    rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I suppose...but that's like saying if one motor blew, replace the other one as it might go too- I'm a novice here, all about preventive maintenance but that seems a little excessive considering the cost. I would not think there is any savings doing two at a time as it is just simple math of labor and parts on this repair. Might be a good time to clean that bilige out though!
  • Options
    zaverin1zaverin1 Member Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭
    Cost to replace to couplers and engine alignment is way under what two engInes would run.
    if one went maybe it's because boat wasn't maintenance properly and Other is on way out or not would suck to find out in middle of summer 
  • Options
    I was being a little sarcastic to make a point. It's a pretty quick cheap repair in the boating world and with two motors, I would not of don it until needed was my point.
  • Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,561 mod
    Well, I'm thinking of doing a two-for-one this winter as well.  Mine is a transom seal on my stbd engine leaking.  I'll probably just get both sides done and be done with it.  Sometimes it's not just the fact of savings doing both, but saving time if the issue arises right in the middle of boating season!

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• Options
    Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Why has everyones transom seal broken on the same side??????????????????
  • Options
    Either torque or weight distribution related
    maybe dumb luck 
  • Options
    Or the fiberglass workers?
  • Options
    jcc2823jcc2823 Member Posts: 54 ✭✭