Wiring Help - I'm a Rookie!!!!!

Brunet33Brunet33 Member Posts: 3
I see all these post about adding new charging plus, LED cup holder lights, or anything with wires. I have zero idea how to do any of this wiring or hooking things up to a switch. Does anyone have a thread for that or can post some info that would help even a beginner to be able to complete these types of projects?

Any thing would get me started in the right direction. 

thanks for the help in advance.....

Comments

• russellhrussellh Member Posts: 155 ✭✭
    You and me too as far as electrics go! I'd get someone into help out you trust and watch them. Electrics on boats and water not a good combo! I can do everything else but seeing as I'm in England and USA wiring has different colour coding I thought get the pros in.... just my penny's worth
  • MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭✭✭

The best thing is to go to a marine supply store and discuss what you want to install. Each system/product may have a different installation method, for instance:

- adding lights, perhaps you want to go off an existing circuit.

- replacing bulbs ... just about finding the correct fitting replacements in LED (multi color or white).

- adding charge stations ... 12V plug in? Likely need a new line from the battery.

- adding fishing gear ... again 12V, normally new line.

Any new line should go back to the battery, and there are rules in terms of the guage of wire depending on the amperage you need and the length of the wire. You'll need to put a fuse on the hot wire (red) close to the battery.  If you plan on doing a lot of add ons, a fuse block is the better way to go. Remember to always use marine grade components, and follow the rule book, to reduce the potential for any harm to people or boats.

Boat Name: King Kong

"Boat + Water = Fun"

• StodgeStodge Member Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭✭