Options

2015 Rinker 276 CC Battery Issues

Danimal0531Danimal0531 Member Posts: 5
edited June 2017 in Rinker Support Q&A
Having issues with either my batteries or battery switch.  I always turn the batteries off when i leave the boat, and my battery switch has 3 positions.  Off, On & Combine (emergency).  Historically i've always run the batteries in the "on" position, however lately i've had to start the motor with "combine - emergency"

Bear with me as i'm still a novice boater, and don't want to pay the service dept an hour labor just to check the charge of my batteries, however am i doing something wrong with operating the switch? does it sound like a dead battery issue?
Post edited by Danimal0531 on

Comments

• Options
    skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2017
    There's a bunch of similar threads about this topic, but I'll try and point out some area's to look.

1. You should never move the switch position while the boat's running...it can cause damage to the boats charging system.  Only move the switch when the engine is off.

2.  You should have a battery isolator somewhere and it could be defective.  An isolator "isolates" each battery so that one battery can't drain the other.  It almost sounds like this could be the case since after some time 1 battery won't start, but combining both of them on the switch will.  It could be you have a bad battery and it's draining the good one.

3.  The isolator also allows the alternator to charge both batteries regardless of what switch position you are in.

4.  Wouldn't hurt to put a multi meter on the batteries with engine running to see if indeed they are charging while underway...which could also be either the alternator or the isolator.

Just a side note...I never turn my switch off during the season I see no point.

If I think of something else I post back...others will chime in I'm sure.
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3
  • Options