1990 Fiesta Vee 300 original equipment

Just purchased a 1990 Fiesta Vee 300.  First powerboat; but I have sailed/a  for 40+ yrs

Not a lot of documentation with it and the PO wasn't a lot of help

It has twin 350 Mercruisers with outdrives.  Is there a quick way of identifying what Model the drives are, and/or nameplate location?
There was no obvious engine cooling water through hull and again the PO had sort of a blank stare when I asked him where the through hulls and water pumps were located.  It is a freshwater boat with no heat exchanger/closed loop that I am aware of. 

I have never owned an outdrive before; is it possible the engine cooling water comes from the outdrive?  It would seem pretty logical to get a water pickup from the leading edge of the outdrive, but again i am a complete newbie to I/O.

To be honest I haven't spent a lot of time on the boat yet as it is a couple hours drive away.  I was just hoping to identify the drives, get what manual may be available online then use it to go through the systems on the boat this coming weekend.  Also haven't see it out of the water but that's another story

Thanks for whatever help you can be 
Peter

Comments

• reneechris14reneechris14 Member Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Most likely alpha 1 gen 2 in 1990.there are sec.# on port side upper case.but Thier just printed on probably not there any more.Google images you will see the difference.
    2005 Rinker FV342  Pawcatuck river,Ct
  • StodgeStodge Member Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭✭
    If you're lucky there are serial numbers on the covers over the flame arrestors. 

The water comes in through the drives, into the motor, then back out the drives in most cases.  The Alphas have impellers like outboard motors.  Not sure about the Bravo 1 or 2, but the Bravo 3 drives have a external water pump to pull the water from the drives and push it to the motors.

2002 FV 342 on Lake St. Clair - Past Commodore SHC - Vessel Examiner USCGAUX

• F1100F1100 Member Posts: 292 ✭✭✭