Options

Voltage and Trim gauge not working on 2007 280 EC

TomEkenesTomEkenes Member Posts: 6
Hi

I have problems not getting any readings on the voltmeter, nor the trim gauge.  Fuel, oil and temp as well as background light on gauge are working, but not the volts. The trim gauge also have lights, but not responding when trimming the engine up or down.

Found a wiring diagram on the forum I assume is for my model

It seems to me that the Voltmeter is connected to the trim gauge.

Im not experienced in troubleshooting problems of this sort. Not knowing where to start. Have taken out the gauge and looked behind it, but not sure where I should start investigating. Is it most likely that the gauge with volt needs to be replaced or am I looking at the wrong place.

Appreciate for any suggestions on how to proceed with solving this.

Br Tom (Norway)

Comments

• Options
    reneechris14reneechris14 Member Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would assume the gauge is bad as it takes a reading from the ignition  (purple wire) and other gauges have power. Trim gauges are always problematic but can be tested with an ohm meter there are bullet connectors in the harness back buy the disturbitor.most likely water intrusion on the sender's on the out drive.
    2005 Rinker FV342  Pawcatuck river,Ct
  • Options
    howardramshowardrams Member Posts: 223 ✭✭✭