Winter Cover

I have a Rinker 342 I purchased this season and it came with a very heavy Fisher Cover, custom made for the boat. Previous owner states he leaves the camper canvass on and uses 2 plastic garbage cans for the bow.  Is it ok to leave the summer canvass on and just go over with the cover, or should I remove all isinglass and canvass before covering.

Comments

• aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I’m sure everyone has there own ways weather it be wrong or right. I leave everything up and go over it with a tarp. I’ve been doing it this way for the past 5 years.

2008 330EC
  • Liberty44140Liberty44140 Member Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If the fisher canvas in no way touches the camper canvas than it's ok. But I would take it home. I store indoors and I take all of the eisenglass home for the winter to clean and store. I leave the tops on and put the mooring cover on. 
    07' Cruisers 390 (Previous Rinker's: 06' 342EC & 01' 310FV)

• Cableguy GregCableguy Greg Member Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have a Fisher cover and I take my covers off and store them at home in my basement. The cover will work better if you make a frame so the water/snow is able to roll off and not collect anywhere. Here is a thread that shows the frame that I built out of 2" and 1" PVC pipe.

http://rinkerboats.vanillaforums.com/discussion/comment/73697#Comment_73697

2008 280 Express Cruiser, 6.2MPI, B3, Pittsburgh, PA "Blue Ayes"
    Go Steelers!!!
  • Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,552 mod