Options

How not to winterize...2002 Rinker 342 fiesta vee

cls10105cls10105 Member Posts: 352 ✭✭
Me again, as i had said before i am pretty new to boating. In fact this is my1st twin engine. I wanted to use the winter months to practice and learn how to handle my boat. But not sure of the best way not to winterize without causing major expensive damage. Help for the newbie please. Thanks again!
cruising on 6. tw0s

Comments

• Options
    IanIan Member Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭✭
    Where are you located?

Regards,

Ian

The Third “B”

Secretary, Ravena Coeymans Yacht Club

https://www.rcyachtclub.com/

• Options
    skennellyskennelly Member Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭✭
    I think he said Tennessee.  I wouldnt think you get deep freezer and if you keep the boat in the water you should be fine...should I say.  Do people leave their boats in water year round in Tennessee?
    2002 - 270FV Mag 350 B3
  • Options
    Chattanooga Tennessee.  We do have boats that are kept in the water year round but it does get really cold here.
    cruising on 6. tw0s
  • Options
    LaReaLaRea Member, Moderator Posts: 7,553 mod
    Don't let anybody tell you to hang an electric light bulb in the engine room.  Anything in the ER must be spark-protected.   

There are marine electric heaters rated for use in the ER.  But ask yourself:  do you trust the power grid at your marina?  
  • Options
    212rowboat212rowboat Member Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Webasto or eberspacher, and either flavor (air or hydro) will work.  Not only will it protect engine from freeze, you can put a timer, a thermostat, and/or even a cell signal start on it.  It would be nice to hang on the boat at dock on nice winter day and it be toasty warm, and just from the webasto or eberspacher. Personally, I like the eberspacher better, but its just splitting hairs...