Need some insight on my insurance quote

McGarnicleMcGarnicle Member Posts: 242 ✭✭✭
edited November 2018 in General Boating Discussions
So this is my first year with my 342 my previous boating experience was with my Chap 260sig for 3 years. 

When I purchased my 260 I went with Progressive because I use USAA for everything but they don't offer marine insurance and have a partnership. No big deal was only $500 bucks a year didn't think much about it. 

I purchased my 342 this past Feb and Progressive quoted me 3k, almost had a heart attack but at the time just wanted to make sure I was insured during transportation and everything else so I just paid. Now the boat is on land and laid up for the winter I'm ready to make a change. 

Reading threads on the forum a lot of people recommended Global Marine, so I submitted an application and received a quote this morning. Being so new in the marine world, and to be honest dealing with insurance in general this all confusing and not sure if this would be acceptable coverage, and what's Progressive is covering that AIG isn't and vice/versa. 

One big thing I did notice is that AIG motor and drive depreciation is 7 years and Progressive offers Propulsion Plus, not sure if this is a big deal or not.

Any help/insight would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• LaReaLaRea Member, Moderator Posts: 7,534 mod
    That's $8 per $100k of agreed value, which is similar to what they quoted me.  The only difference is you specified a 6-month layup, and I had 5 months.  

It's good coverage.  The $1M fuel spill is good, but you might ask USAA for a price on a $1M umbrella policy.  That would cover fuel spill and much more.  
  • StodgeStodge Member Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭✭
    I'm in the same boat (USAA for nearly everything) but didn't have THAT bad a quote from progressive.