How much water should be in boat after an hour?

thrcaptiva276thrcaptiva276 Member Posts: 12
I am brand new to being the boat owner on the water!  I am the third owner of a beautiful Rinker 276 Captiva. She runs strong with a 496, everything works great, powers onto plane and everything.  I properly placed in the drain plug.  While I was learning the boat a bit, I was not throttling hard enough to jump on plane and the boat was stern down bow up for a little bit and we got water in the port holes from the engine compartment to the sitting area.  Nothing the bilge pump couldn't handle.   I ran the pump loaded the boat on the trailer and when i popped the plug it drained water on the ramp for a solid 2-3 minutes.  Am I being over nervous?  

Comments

• Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,552 mod
    Welcome to the forum!  That seems like quite a bit of water, enough that the bilge pump should've automatically kicked on. If water came in the cockpit, it may have went below as well during that.  The next time you have the boat in the water you should just take a look in the bilge area and monitor it for a little while.  You can also run the motor and make sure there are no leaks as well.  That is a bit too much water for an hour.

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• thrcaptiva276thrcaptiva276 Member Posts: 12
    edited April 2021
    Thank you @Dream_Inn.  I manually threw on the bilge, i know it auto's but was a little freaked out.  
  • aero3113aero3113 Member Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome!
    I agree with @Dream_Inn , check the float for your bilge pump. With that much water in there the pump should’ve came on automatically.
    Are you trimming your drive and tabs correctly? This will keep the bow down and get you on plane.
    2008 330EC
    edited April 2021