Boat House Purchase Suggestions Thoughts. Not a house boat

Aqua_AuraAqua_Aura Member Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭✭
We may have the opportunity to purchase a boat house for our boat with the yacht club in our town. I have never done this before so I was curious if anyone had any insights as to any possible hidden problems I may run into. They said all the fees for the boat house are included in the Yacht club fees after I purchase the house from the previous owner. I need to discuss it further with the club maybe this week. 
1997 Bayliner 3988
Post edited by Aqua_Aura on

Comments

• WillhoundWillhound Member Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭✭✭
    As in to keep the boat in? Or a water based house?
    "Knot Quite Shore" - 2000 FV270
  • Liberty44140Liberty44140 Member Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2021
    Fiend of mine had one here and it was awesome. Was attached to the back of his very nice home, was big enough for a 28’ regulator and had hoists to keep it out of the water. He did have an issue when he was selling it. Buyer did the right thing and had someone (structural engineer? I don’t know) inspect the pillars and a couple of them were “bad”. He ended up taking money off to cover buyer making repairs later. So depending on how expensive this is you may want to have the structure properly inspected. 
    07' Cruisers 390 (Previous Rinker's: 06' 342EC & 01' 310FV)

• WillhoundWillhound Member Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yeah, I think really the only parts to worry about are the piles and any break walls as these support the building and are the expensive parts to fix. Anything above that is just a regular garage basically.
    "Knot Quite Shore" - 2000 FV270
  • Aqua_AuraAqua_Aura Member Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2021
    Willhound said:
    As in to keep the boat in? Or a water based house?
    It is just for the boat with no other area for living or recreation.