What trim tabs will fit the transom of a 2005 232 Captiva?

pilot425pilot425 Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
I have a 2005 232 CC with a factory swim platform. 5L Volvo Penta with a SS Revolution4 19P prop. Boat porpoises excessively with any size waves. With trim full down the boat still porpoises and a very long time to plane. Does anyone have input on what type/size trim tab will fit the rear transom of this boat. Has anyone experienced this behavior in their 232 and if so how did you correct problem? I have over 30 yrs experience in boating of many different size boats. I run primarily on Lake Michigan. Any input would be appreciated.

Comments

• Black_DiamondBlack_Diamond Member Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome aboard to a fellow Lake Michigan boater! I'm sure a fellow 232 owner can help.

Past owner of a 2003 342FV
    PC BYC, Holland, MI
  • raybo3raybo3 Administrator Posts: 5,455 admin
    Welcome to the RBOC....
    2002 342 Fiesta Vee PC Point Of Pines YC Revere MA. popyc.org     raybo3@live.com
  • BabyboomerBabyboomer Member Posts: 918 mod

Slip 866 Sunset Marina Byrdstown Tn
  • MadcowMadcow Member Posts: 58 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2013

I run on Lake Michigan and had the same problem.

I added trim tabs, problem solved. She tames the water now.

Post edited by Madcow on

Boat: 2004 232 Capitva CC

Boat Name: Mixed Nutz

• pilot425pilot425 Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
    Madcow, what size/manufacturer tabs did you go with?

Lenco 12x12 Edge Mount w/LED Switch

If your transom is the same as my 2004 Edge Mount is crucial so you wont need spacers.

They are awesome but pricey.

Here are some pictures of my install:

• raybo3raybo3 Administrator Posts: 5,455 admin
    Looks sweet....

2002 342 Fiesta Vee PC Point Of Pines YC Revere MA. popyc.org     raybo3@live.com