Auto pilot

How much is involved in rigging an autopilot?  Got a 270 FV.  Do I need a pump? 

Comments

• Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Search @LaRea thread on auto pilot
  • Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • NL_SaltyNL_Salty Member Posts: 5
    Thanks for the comments and links.  I'll check it out some more.  appreciated.

• rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I"m not sure I'm good with cars driving themselves, I know I'm not good with boats! Might be better than some of the dumb dumbs that do drive them now that I think about it...
  • LaReaLaRea Member Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭✭✭
    @rasbury - you should try it sometime.  You might like it.  The captain is ALWAYS in charge of the vessel, even with autopilot.  The AP just handles some of the busy-work so the captain can focus on navigation and lookout.  

I mean, your car has a computer, right?  (Well, probably ...)  You don't calculate the voltage sent to the fuel injectors.  The computer figures it out based on how hard you press the gas pedal, but the computer isn't driving the car.  Same with autopilot.  It just makes things easier.  
    I thought it was like in a plane or something...plot the course and then walk away from the helm.....that would have to be on my lottery boat!
  • Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2017