Options

2007 280ec can you tell me the cruising speed & at what rpm?

anotherboatanotherboat Member Posts: 3
I just got a 2007 280 ec with a volvo 8.1GI eng ,outdrive with duo prop. can you tell me the cruising speed & at what rpm? what is top speed & at what rpm?   I am new to a boat of this size and im learning how she works...trim tabs,eng tilt. I just love this boat. I have been out on it 5 times, just cant help throwing the hammer down all the way..someone told me the gps is the best way to tell speed, the speedometer is not as accurate,is that true? I had the gps at 44 mph, the speedometer was lower. now i want to explore.... how far can i go on a tank of gas? the cruising speed & rpm should tell me if i am getting all i can on a tank of gas correct?         thanks for your help & info.   

Answers

• Options
    BabyboomerBabyboomer Member Posts: 918 mod

Slip 866 Sunset Marina Byrdstown Tn
  • Options
    TonyWalkerTonyWalker Member Posts: 744 ✭✭✭

Congratulations on your new 280.  I know the feeling.  My boat is a 2006 and in those days and for the size of our boat, Rinker put out a performance chart that gave GPH vs engine RPM, speed and all that stuff.  For us that continues to be a big help and reference.

I would avoid the hammer down all the way except of an occasional burst.  All the way should give you 4800 rpms plus or minus if your boat has the right prop on it.

Your 44 GPS mph is probably correct.  The water speedo will read less since that is water pressure operated and the water speedo is several feet above the transducer.  Sometimes the transducer gets a load of seaweed and that makes any reading totally meaningless.