Options

Time to plane

NRathNRath Member Posts: 135 ✭✭
Captain newbie here...  I've taken one trip, the sea trial, in my Captiva 192 4.3GXi, stock prop (14.5 x 19º, I think).  I had read a review about it and it said time to plane was like 3.8 seconds.  Having been boating a fair amount (with other people), I knew that was pretty quick.  However, my girl is timed at more like 8-9 seconds.  With a couple people in back- wouldn't do it.  Move some weight up front and it'll plane.  3 people on board- speedo hits 49 mph.  Compression checked out good on all cylinders and it seems to run like a top so far.  What gives?

Also, the reviewed boat was a Merc 4.3 non-fi, so it should have only been 190 hp, vs my 225...

Should I try again with no other passengers?  Of course, a prop change or trim tabs would help.  Just puzzled and a little concerned why the reviewed boat would be so different.

Comments

• Options
    mvnmvn Member, Moderator Posts: 744 mod
    edited July 2015
    Yes,  weight makes a huge difference on the 192.  A 19" prop should be perfect.   Smart tabs also make a huge difference.   The boat pops out of the water with them on. 

What is your wide open throttle rpm? 

Mark 
    Good,  fast,  cheap.... pick two. 
    2019 MTX20 Extreme

• Options
    MarkBMarkB Member Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For sure weight at the back is going to have a negative impact.

Read conditions of the test, they should specify tank level, number of people on board, etc.  I'd imagine at 3.8 seconds they basically had 1/4 tank of fuel and only the boat operator on board, perfect water conditions (flat water), etc.

Do you have smart tabs? That will make a big difference.

Boat Name: King Kong

"Boat + Water = Fun"

• Options
    nhsdnhsd Member Posts: 182 ✭✭✭