Options

Synthetic Oils Comparison

13»

Comments

• Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭

@212 - I agree and believe I stated a number of times in the thread above that I respect the value of oil analysis.

As well, I believe in using: quality oil (IMO - that's a synthetic), quality filter, frequency of change as dictated by your usage, as determined by oil analysis. I have been stating that for 15 years.

The point of the article I originally posted was, I believe, do NOT trust manufacturer's claims , particularly of the composition of their oils - do some research - to see if the "quality" of the oil as "claimed" is indeed accurate. - AND - oil analysis is GOOD as shown by two representative exemplar tests.

Synthetic does not necessarily mean what many people think it does. I also hold fast to  the notion that doing the above will significantly lengthen the time to a rebuild.

• Options
    06Rinker27006Rinker270 Member Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭
    Silly oil question but I want to be 100% sure.  I am putting in synthetic but none of my manuals give me part numbers for the synthetic, just the regular.  Is this correct for a 2006 350mag?  The non synthetic is correct based on my manual.

Patrick
    06 Rinker 270
  • Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,563 mod

This is what I ordered from Michigan Motorz:

4-Cycle Synthetic Blend MerCruiser Oil / 25W-40 - Gallon
    Item# 7640 (92-8M0078623)

Not sure what the difference is from what you have listed.  Both say Synthetic Blend. 

$27.95 USD5$139.75 USD

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• Options
    69fastback69fastback Member Posts: 951 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2016
    F1100 said:
    After 16 years of racing, and owning a race shop, I can safely say that oil additives and the "oil debate" is mostly bunk.