Options

carpet replacement/seat changeout

Hi everyone I'm new to this so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong forum. I'm wanting to change out the carpet in my 2002 rinker 180 br. I'm wondering if there is anything I should expect? is it hard would I need to change out the plywood etc? any info would be great. Also I am wondering since I have back to back seats on the driver and passage side can I change those out to a single bucket seat on each side? wanting to make more room to put stuff and what not. And the last thing where can I get new decals I'm looking for all new decals for this boat. wanting to fix it up a bit. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2016

Hey @Ortiz_1989, Welcome on your first post and to this forum. You will have a great time here and make many friends!.

I have changed the carpet on a Rinker 190. it was glued down. We scraped it off, which took most of a Saturday. We sanded-off the residue, tack ragged the surface and sealed it with a coat of modified and thinned resin, let it dry and glued down new carpet. it already had bucket seats.

However I did replace the slider seats in a 1990 VIP vision. The trick was to mount them securely into the plywood floor as there is a stronger pivot point on captains' seats. I don't remember what size screws we used but it lasted years before it was sold.

You should be able to see in the bow or engine bay how thick your wooden floor is. If you can not find a place to determine the thickness of your plywood, cut a piece of coat hanger about a foot long, put a small, about 1/16" 90 degree bend in the end of it and slip it down a screw hole from the old seats - move to towards a side of the hole and pull up. When it stops mark the wire at the floor height. To remove it center the wire or just pull hard - that will be your floor thickness.