Options

Looking to buy my first Rinker, 2000 340, thoughts and opinions

I am new to the Rinker brand. Previous boats were a 1996 Maxum 1900SCR, Maxum 2400SCR, Sea Ray 330DA and the one was  a Regal 3780. I did most of the service myself so I'm a bit of a bilge rat mechanic. I liked them all. I've been out of boating for 7 years, I'm ready to get back in. I've been mostly looking at 2000/2001 Sea 340s. 

I recently looked at a 2003 Rinker 342 Fiesta Vee and also a 2000 340 Fiesta Vee. I'm impressed. I'm leaning towards the 2000 mostly because of price. The 2003 is turn key and shows well. The 2000 has been on hard for 3 years, needs a good cleaning, some TLC and such, it's about have the list price though.

Both have the 350 Mags MPI with Bravo III outdrives. 

Next step is offer, sea trial and survey. Are there things I should check on them, known issues, this breaks, check it out, kind of things? Are these good engines? My last two boats were 7.4s with V-Drives. How do these outdrives perform, and what about dock manaeuvering? 

Though I like the Rinker, and the price is great, I finding  myself not thinking "Wow!!".  Guess I am here looking for assurance it's a good boat. 

Thanks, 

Greg

Comments

• Options
    Michael TMichael T Member Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭✭✭

Rinkers are great boats, by far the best value for your money and built very tough.

The new management under Kim Slocum with Randy Rinker opening a big dealership is the best news in a long time! Are you committed to the 342 or 340? If you are get in both and stand up all over the two boats to check headroom. Sit on the toilets of both boats. Do you have enough room?