Options

Engine sounds/runs great but very very slow acceleration

06Rinker27006Rinker270 Member Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭
Little backstory...
Memorial day weekend ran the boat with 4 on board, 1/4 fuel, no water and little black water.  We were loaded with all the necessities for a great day on the water.  First time I noticed the boat was running sluggish.  Engine sounded great and normal, but took me a long time to get going.  I am still learning the fundaments of trimming drive and trim tabs but I now the difference between the 270s slow hull shot and being even slower than normal.

Month goes buy without using the boat and sitting in water.  July 4th weekend I go out and she is even slower.  This time I am by myself with a full tank of gas.  I went out to play with trimming the drive and playing with trim tabs. Again, engine sounds great, RPMS seem normal, gps says I am going above 20 but speedometer says barely hitting 10 and boy it felt slow.  Speedo normally works, worked Memorial weekend.  Hull shot and felt like I was going no where.    

I have new fuel filters and oil filters.  New manifolds and elbows.

My thoughts are this and please tell me opinions.    1) Engine needs a tune up, not sure last time it had one. 2) Bent prop 3) I took off props last season and put them on correctly with correct alignment.  Can they shift out of place?  4) Boat sat for a month but can there be that much build up that quickly to cause boat to be extremely sluggish?  I plan to haul out next weekend to inspect hull and props.

Thanks everyone for reading and opinions.  Been a great season so far cant wait to continue. 
Patrick
06 Rinker 270

Comments

• Options
    rasburyrasbury Member Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭✭✭