Options

Thinking about motoring my boat to the Bahamas from Florida

dwolfdwolf Member Posts: 157 ✭✭
 Can anyone give me any advice on boating from Florida to the Bahamas the dues and downs and things I need to know the best time to go anything that could help I know to go in the spring early .  And I also know it's a good idea to go with a group of other boaters a possible that's what I'd rather do . I've never done anything like this before and just something that's on my bucket list .  So far this winter I've been going through everything on my boat to make sure that it's in tiptop shape including pulling out driving fully servicing it . I know to take extra bilge pump and belts and hoses and etc.   i'm sure there's plenty of y'all who have done this . Would be great if some of y'all were going across and I could cross when y'all did.

Comments

• Options
    Handymans342Handymans342 Member Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you know the total distance? Do you have the fuel capacity?
  • Options
    randy56randy56 Member Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Now's your chance Handy, make the trip.
    Boat Name : 

• Options
    Waiting on auto pilot install
  • Options
    Make your wife drive, set it up with dwolf, I'll come down and go with ya.
    Boat Name : 

• Options
    Need 2 weeks off for that trip. Key West is a day
  • Options
    From Ft Pierce FL to Freeport is only 121 miles, @ 26 miles per hour that's only a 4.65 hour cruse. From West Palm Beach it's only 85 miles. You could be there for lunch, spend the nite, buy all the rum, cigars, and left handed cigarettes, you want and come back the next day. just sayin
    Boat Name : 

• Options
    Thats an easy trip for me if my boat was in Ft Pierce. It would take 2 days to get over there. 
  • Options
    Ya mon, Ras even may want to join in on this. 
    Boat Name : 

• Options
    Do you know the total distance? Do you have the fuel capacity?