Options

Rinker Rookie

I’m in the process of buying a ‘03 290 Fiesta Vee. I’m new to Rinkers as my previous boat was a ‘87 Sea Ray Sundancer 270.
Just curious as to other boaters preferences, pros and cons or if there is anything specific to Rinkers that first time owners should be aware of. Thanks for any input you have to share.

Comments

• Options
    StodgeStodge Member Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome aboard!

What you'll discover about Rinkers is that you get more bang for the buck.  The only downside I can share is that the standard engines are sometimes a little too light for the boat.  Otherwise I think you'll find your 290 to be a nice boat.

Best of luck and feel free to ask questions here.

2002 FV 342 on Lake St. Clair - Past Commodore SHC - Vessel Examiner USCGAUX

• Options
    Dream_InnDream_Inn Member, Moderator Posts: 7,561 mod
    Paul, welcome to the forum!  We are a great Rinker family here that will help you out.  I believe a lot of them came with the 5.0 MPI with twin B-3 drives.  That should be a nice combination for that size boat.  It also had a cockpit layout similar to that of an older 310 as well.  Which was quite nice (I had a 2002 310 for a while).  That size is the smallest one with twin engines.  So, depending on how you look at it, that can be a good thing.  Some would say they want the 270 or 280 with a single engine for less maintenance.  I'll stay off that debate since you are only talking 290.  I think it's a great choice and have been on a few of them over the years.  Seem to be a great boat!  One of the common issues with those years of Rinkers is paint chipping and possible cracking in the arch.  It's something fixable, but worth noting.  Options were probably the arch, generator, and motor sizes as well as fresh or raw water cooled.

Dream 'Inn III -- 2008 400 Express

• Options
    zaverin1zaverin1 Member Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭
    Hey Paul!
    what did you do to the 270
    sink her lol